STATE CAPITOL P.O. BOX 942849 SACRAMENTO, CA 94249-0115



October 30, 2023

Honorable Liane Randolph Chair, California Air Resources Board 1001 I Street Sacramento, CA 95814 Honorable Steven S. Cliff, Ph.D. Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board 1001 I Street Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: California Air Resources Board's Funding Plan for Clean Cars 4 All

Dear Chair Randolph and Dr. Cliff,

We the undersigned write to respectfully urge California Air Resources Board (CARB) to allocate the majority of its investments in the Clean Cars 4 All (CC4A) funding plan toward the five regional air quality districts — South Coast, Bay Area, San Joaquin, San Diego, and Sac Metro — which all have a proven track record of success with CC4A.

The Legislature has passed several bills over recent years related to clean transportation equity programs, such as CC4A, to reduce pollution in disadvantaged communities. SB 459 (Pavley, 2014) and SB 1275 (De León, 2014) initially established CC4A, and AB 630 (Cooper, 2017) codified the program to support the replacement of older, high-polluting vehicles in disadvantaged communities with newer, zero- or low-emission vehicles. The most recent measure, SB 1382 (Gonzalez, 2022), gives CARB specific direction on how to implement and fund the existing CC4A programs administered by the regional air quality districts, and metrics to consider such as:

- 1) The number of vouchers deployed
- 2) The proportion of applications that have successfully resulted in replacement transactions or mobility voucher
- 3) Demand for vouchers
- 4) Proportional investment to underserved populations
- 5) Populations in eligible CC4A zip codes.

These efforts and guidelines underscore the Legislature's interest in the success of CC4A. SB 1382 (Gonzalez) clearly showcases the Legislature's intent that CC4A funding allocations be based on demonstrated demand and program success. With this in mind, we highlight the fact that the five regional air quality districts encompass 85 percent of the state population, and 95 percent of its disadvantaged communities. SB 459 (Pavley) gave the original direction to administer CC4A

through regional air quality districts to keep the program closer to the communities it is designed to serve.

The anticipated "statewide" program that covers the remaining 15 percent of the state's population appears to be fully funded by the \$125 million allocated from 2022. Providing additional funding at this time to a program that has yet to launch – while the existing district programs face the risk of running out of funds – seems premature and contrary to the intent of SB 1382 (Gonzalez).

While 25 percent of the new car sales in California are ZEVs, the electric revolution has yet to penetrate our underserved communities. The majority of California's older, highly polluting vehicles remain in communities with a higher percentage of lower-income, Latino, or Black residents. These vehicles produce the majority of light-duty vehicle pollution by releasing lungdamaging particles and climate-warming emissions. The higher cost of ZEVs only compound this problem by keeping cleaner vehicles financially out of reach for the underserved populations.

CC4A remains California's landmark ZEV equity program, but it is often hamstrung by stop-andstart funding cycles. The Legislature will continue to focus on CC4A because of its success in providing our constituents with the opportunity to participate in the "EV Revolution" and enjoy the associated benefits of cleaner air and improved health.

For these reasons, we urge CARB to allocate the majority of its investments in the CC4A funding plan toward the regional air quality districts that have robust experience and insight on how to serve their local populations.

Thank you for your consideration of this important matter.

Sincerely,

Assemblymember Carlos Villapudua

Assembly District 13

Assembly Majority Leader Isaac Bryan **Assembly District 55**

Speaker Emeritus Anthony Rendon Assembly District 62

Assemblymember Phil Ting

Assembly District 19

Mate A japan

Assemblymember Mike Gipson Assembly District 65

Clance & Rubio

Assembly member Blanca Rubio Assembly District 48

Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo Assembly District 52

Assemblymember Luz Rivas
Assembly District 43

Assemblymember Esmeralda Soria
Assembly District 27

Assemblymember Evan Low
Assembly District 26

Assemblymember Chris Holden
Assembly District 41

Keun McCarty

Assemblymember Kevin McCarty
Assembly District 6

Mouth Thera

Assemblymember Heath Flora Assembly District 9

Assemblymember Stephanie Nguyen Assembly District 10

Andel Rods

Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez Assembly District 53

ph

Dr. Jasmeet Bains Assembly District 35

Assemblymember Josh Hoover Assembly District 7

Assemblymember Corey Jackson Assembly District 60



Assemblymember Devon Mathis Assembly District 33

Laure Davies

Assemblymember Laurie Davies Assembly District 74

Lik C. Zbur

Assemblymember Rick Chavez Zbur Assembly District 51

1-1-

Assemblymember Blanca Pacheco Assembly District 64

Mua M. Cabellus

Senator Anna Caballero Senate District 14

Senator Josh Newman Senate District 29

Senator Josh Becker

Senate District 13

David along

Assemblymember David Alvarez Assembly District 80

Assemblymember Juan Alanis
Assembly District 22

Jan ali

Dine D. Disen

Assemblymember Diane Dixon Assembly District 72

Senator Lena Gonzalez Senate District 30

Senator Caroline Menjivar Senate District 20

J Arhelda

Senator Bob Archuleta Senate District 30

Senator Lola Smallwood-Cuevas Senate District 28

She Smell Cours

Senator Dave Min Senate District 37

Senator Steven Bradford Senate District 35

Senator Dave Cortese Senate District 15 Melissa hirlands

Senator Melissa Hurtado Senate District 16

Senator Marie Alvarado-Gil Senate District 4